top of page

Do You Consider Food When Exercising?


This week I am welcoming Chloe Hung, author of the blog, www.happinesswithyoga.com, as my guest blogger. Chloe used to lead a very sedentary lifestyle and disliked going to the gym because she thought it was boring. Needless to say, she gained a lot of weight because she wasn't motivated to exercise and loved to eat.

In 2014, Chloe made the decision to lead a healthier lifestyle. She decided to try yoga even though she didn't think she'd like it. She felt that yoga would be boring and not challenging enough. Plus, she could not stand the thought of meditating since she fell asleep every time she tried to sit down and listen to a meditation guide.

Chloe says, "I felt really nervous when I stepped into my first yoga studio in 2014. But, I was pleasantly surprised at how challenging it could be. From then on, I never looked back. Yoga forced me out of my own comfort zone and into a healthier life."

She said the different yoga postures felt awkward at first, but are now second nature to her. Her biggest fear in yoga was inversions because she lost her sense of security when her feet left the ground. "Despite being afraid, I attempted a few upside down positions. I'm still unable to do a handstand. But yoga has taught me that it is not about accomplishing the difficult postures that look good in pictures. It is about finding a balance between the comfortable and the uncomfortable."

This week, Chloe is sharing her experience with planning her food intake along with her exercise. Many people think that as long as they exercise, they can eat whatever they want. Unfortunately, that is not true. Here is what Chloe has to share about her experience with food & exercise.

Do you worry about what you put in your mouth on a daily basis? This can really affect your exercise routine.

While exercising is really great for you, if you don’t improve your eating habits, the benefits of your workout won’t be as great. If you are still drinking soda and eating sugary food, you won’t see your body change as quickly as if you were eating a healthier diet.

Too many people worry that they don’t have time to fix a healthy dinner. It really isn’t that hard to do.

How about grilling some chicken breast along with a baked potato and some fresh vegetables? It can all be put together in 30 minutes or less. On the weekends try making some vegetable soup and putting it into containers in the fridge to be used as a quick dinner or even a lunch during the week.

Other things that I enjoy cooking are:

  • Tuna or chicken wraps

  • Grilled fish with vegetables

  • Pork tenderloin stir fry

  • Baked chicken with pineapple and red peppers

Even when I make dishes like spaghetti, I use really lean ground beef or turkey and add tons of vegetables.

I often add a lot of peppers, onions, garlic, celery and mushrooms to my pasta and there is always enough for two meals. I have also switched to eating whole wheat pasta. This adds a delicious flavor to our meal and is more nutritious. If you find yourself eating out for dinner, choose a non-fried item with brown rice and vegetables. Opt for an herbal tea instead of a soda or just stick with good ole' plain water.

If you get hungry before exercising, reach for a healthy snack. Grab a banana, handful of nuts, or yogurt to fuel your exercise. After exercising, be sure to consume 20-30 grans of healthy protein to help rebuild your muscles.

I Hope I have you thinking about what you are going to be putting in your mouth today!

Enjoy and happy exercising!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page