top of page

10,000 Maniacs

Yesterday was day 1 of my "30-Day Adventures with Gumby," a challenge to do something new or different every day for thirty days. For day 1, we headed up to the Canyons for a free concert featuring "10,000 Maniacs," an Alternative/Indy Rock band started in the early eighties by singer Natalie Merchant and guitarist John Lombardo. Hits like "Trouble Me" and "These are the Days" brought back memories of an era of life that seemed much simpler than today. Perhaps it the fact that I was in my little High School bubble and not yet wise to the ways of the world. Maybe it was that there were no cell phones or internet to spread media hype and play-by-play news. I don't know. But, it seemed so much simpler.

For this day, I enjoyed the simplicity of sitting on a hill full of happy people, enjoying good music, sushi, and a glass of sake with my friends. I even met some new friends and increased my circle. Despite the trials and tribulations of our world today, I am grateful for opportunities like this to bring more joy into my life and observe the collective "happiness" around me. Life is good. :)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page