top of page

Go With The Flow


Sometimes changes isn't a choice...it just falls upon you. I've been attending this concert venue (Red Butte Gardens) for the past five years and always sit center to right of stage and do my best to sit IN FRONT of the VIP section (the string of blue chairs). Despite my arriving three and a half hours before the gates opened and being nearly in the front of the line, I failed at my attempt to get to my ultimate spot. Not only did I end up behind the VIP section, but I also ended up left of stage.

This may not seem like a big deal (and it isn't, really), and you can see we still have pretty good seats. But, you must know I am "metal" in Chinese medicine, which means I don't adjust to change as easily as the other elements. This is something I've been working on for many years...adjusting to change. I actually like change, but only if I initiate it. You see, if "I" initiate the change, I have control. If someone else initiates it without me knowing, I don't have control...hence the difficulty.

So, last night, I grumbled for about 20 seconds, took a deep breath, and took notice of the amazing scenery and great location I was actually in. Basically, I acknowledged what I DID have instead of dwelling on what I didn't. The bottom line is that it is just as easy to focus on what we DO have instead of what we don't. So, I made a choice. :)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page